Moscow's Innovation Cluster to Include Five Groups

Moscow's innovation cluster will include five key groups: science, manufacturing, education, business, and development institutions.

According to Alexey Fursin, head of the Moscow Department of Entrepreneurship and Innovative Development, all cluster operations will be based on a single IT platform, which will be gradually rolled out starting next month.

“The platform's functions will be continuously upgraded until December. It will help organize collaborations to enable new projects, hire workforce, find investors, and source information. All support measures must be deployed electronically to avoid unnecessary paperwork,” emphasized Alexey Fursin.

Last April, Moscow Mayor Sergey Sobyanin approached President Vladimir Putin with the proposal to create an innovation cluster that would bring together Moscow's disparate entities – IT companies, business incubators, technology parks, and R&D institutions. The head of the Russian state signed a respective decree on November 26. 

The cluster will incorporate more than 1,000 innovation infrastructure entities and leverage a wide range of financial incentives, such as low-rate loans, tax exemptions, and venture funding options. Among potential entrants are 173 educational institutions, 719 science organizations, and 7,240 manufacturing entities.

14 march 2019